Have you ever wanted to draw attention to one specific Activity? For example, maybe you want to share a link to an Activity to discuss it with your Gaggle Manager. Or you may want to share a link in an internal newsletter to an important Activity you want your team to share.
No matter how you choose to use it, the copy link to activity feature allows you to copy a link to your device’s clipboard and share that link however and wherever you choose.
Let’s dive into accessing the ‘Copy Link’ feature.
How Do You Use the ‘Copy Link’ Feature in the Member View?
From the Member dashboard within the GaggleAMP platform, navigate to the Activities tab. If you have Activities available in your 'Things to Do,' you'll notice 'Copy Link to Activity' on the right side of the Activity card.
In this view, all Activities will have a 'Copy Link to Activity' option. Clicking this option will copy a direct link to the Member-side Activity on the user’s clipboard.
What Happens When a Gaggle Member Opens a Member Link to an Activity?
When a Gaggle Member clicks on a ‘Member Activity Link,’ they will be routed to one of two places, depending on whether or not the Activity was already completed by the clicking user.
The Linked Activity Has Not Yet Been Performed
If the linked Activity is still active, meaning the Gaggle Member has not completed the Activity and/or has not refused the Activity, the Gaggle Member will be routed to the Things to Do page. Here the selected Activity will appear at the top of the feed and is highlighted with an orange border.
The Linked Activity Is No Longer Active
If the linked Activity is no longer active, meaning the Gaggle Member has completed the Activity and/or has refused the Activity, the Gaggle Member will be routed to their 'Things I've Done' tab and will indicate the linked activity has already been performed.
|Since this Activity has already been performed, the Gaggle Member will not be able to perform the Activity again. Rather, the Activity will display the ‘Performed’ date to the Gaggle Member.|
What Happens With an Expired Activity or a Member Without Access Clicks the Link?
In the event the linked Activity has expired, or the Activity is otherwise unavailable to the Member, one of the following error messages will be displayed:
- Linked Activity has expired
- Linked Activity is unknown or not available in your account
You may find these error messages in the instance a link is created in shared from one Gaggle to a different Gaggle, or if the Activity lives in a private channel to which the Gaggle Member is not subscribed.
How Do You Copy a Link on a Mobile Device?
A Gaggle Member can copy a link to an Activity from the ‘Activities’ or ‘Activity Log’ pages by clicking the link icon. Once the link icon is clicked, the link will be copied to the mobile device’s clipboard to be pasted or opened at will.
What Happens When You Open a Member Link to an Activity on a Mobile Device?
While these copied links can be opened on a mobile device, the behavior will vary depending on its status and/or membership within the Gaggle. When a Members link to an Activity is opened on a mobile device in which the GaggleAMP app is installed, one of the following will happen based on the state of the selected Activity:
The Linked Activity is Still Active
When the Gaggle Member has not yet performed or rejected the Activity, and it has not yet expired, the link will open to the Activity feed. The linked Activity will appear at the top of the feed with a border.
The Linked Activity Is No Longer Active
When the Gaggle Member has already performed or rejected the Activity, the link will open to the 'Things I've Done' tab. The linked Activity will indicate that the Activity is no longer active.
The Linked Activity Is No Longer Active and the Activity is Expired
If the Activity is no longer active and has expired, and the Gaggle Member has not taken action on it, an error message will appear. The linked message will open on the 'Things to Do' tab indicating that the 'Linked Activity has Expired.'
The Link Recipient Does Not Have Access to That Gaggle or a Private Channel
In the event the end user doesn’t have access to the linked Activity’s Gaggle, the user will receive an error message. Their 'Things to Do' page will open with the error “Linked Activity is unknown or not available to your account.”
|It is common to run into this error in the instance a link is shared from one Gaggle to another, in which the Gaggle Member is not a member of both Gaggles. Additionally, this error can be seen when the Activity link is shared from a private Channel in which the Gaggle Member is not a member.|
Frequently Asked Questions:
How do linked Activities work in regards to authentication and authorizations?
While the ability to copy and share a link to an Activity does make it easier to share links where you need them, it’s common to be concerned about the security of your Gaggle.
First and foremost, when anyone clicks on a link to any Activity, GaggleAMP verifies that the person is authenticated into a GaggleAMP session. In the event that the person cannot be authenticated, or does not have an existing GaggleAMP authenticated session, they will be automatically directed to the GaggleAMP login page.
Also, if an authenticated Gaggle Member does not have access to the particular Activity behind the link they clicked, GaggleAMP will display the appropriate error message.
Can I share a link to an Activity with a non-GaggleAMP user or Member?
Unfortunately, no, you cannot. In order to protect your Gaggle, the user would need to be authenticated as a Gaggle Member.
What are some common ways someone would use a link to an Activity?
Your Gaggle Manager may use the link feature to highlight certain Activities in a weekly roundup or communication. Gaggle Members also use the link feature when speaking to or referencing a specific post to their Gaggle Manager, a colleague, or in an internal communications channel. Since the ‘copy link’ feature is quite flexible, you can use it in a number of ways with other members of your Gaggle.