Why Do I Have to Reauthorize My Social Media Networks so Often?

Follow

 

Many social networks require credentials to be reauthorized after a certain period of time, so your social channels will become disconnected from time to time. While this can be frustrating, it’s good to keep in mind that this is normal behavior and usually the result of the social network making a change to keep your account safe and secure. 

Connections between GaggleAMP and your social channels require access tokens, which can expire due to password changes and access token lifespans. Usually, social networks only require a simple reconnection to get back to sharing your content.

If you receive a notification that one of your social networks has become disconnected, follow these simple steps.

Reconnecting Your Social Channels

Desktop

From the Activities tab under ‘Things to do,' scroll down until you see the ‘Social Accounts’ widget on the left-hand side. 

Social_Accounts_Module.png
Adding_your_social_media_account_to_GaggleAMP.png
When the accounts you want to be connected are indeed connected, it will show the status as ‘Active.’ When an account(s) needs to be reauthorized, you will the button 'Reauthorize.'

To reconnect your social account, click ‘Reauthorize.’ This will redirect you to the social network’s login page to provide your credentials to authorize the account.

From here, you will need to verify your credentials with the social network before GaggleAMP can post on your behalf. Once you’re fully connected, your account status will show ‘Active’ and your username will appear under the network name.

Mobile

From your mobile device:

  1. Click the three stacked bars on the far right side of your screen. This will display a slide-over. 

  2. On the slide-over, click on the cog on the far right of the screen. 

  3. Choose the option ‘Social Networks.’

Mobile_Connecting_Social_Accounts.png

From here you can identify which accounts are Active versus Disconnected, as well as add new networks to your Gaggle.

What are the Policies of Each Network?

Each network varies in its authorizations and it is up to the network’s discretion to make changes and adjustments to permissions on their network. For the most updated information, visit the social network’s policy page for current information.

Facebook

The Facebook policy states that tokens last a maximum of 60 days and users must reauthorize apps for continued access. This policy applies to all Facebook app developers. 

Facebook policy, Access Tokens:

User access tokens come in two forms: short-lived tokens and long-lived tokens. Short-lived tokens are valid for one hour, while long-lived tokens have a lifetime of 60 days. You should not depend on these lifetimes remaining the same - the lifetime may change without warning or expire early.

LinkedIn

The LinkedIn policy may require LinkedIn users to frequently reauthorize application access for security reasons. 

For more information, read the LinkedIn policy on oAuth tokens.

If you or your employees are receiving reauthorization requests for LinkedIn, even after a recent reauthorization, it may be because LinkedIn revoked authorization or a user revoked access to their account. 

Note: GaggleAMP uses a refresh token process to automate acquiring new tokens. Once the refresh token is not valid, users will need to perform manual reauthentication just like it is done today. Once a refresh token is validated, it is good for 365 days (1 year) unless a user changes anything in LinkedIn Security, like a password change. This will lead to an invalidated refresh token and the user will once again need to perform manual reauthentication.

It is important to reauthorize a broken LinkedIn connection as soon as possible. If a user's connection expired or was revoked, it needs to be reauthorized within 30 days of the last date of connection in order to avoid potential data loss. If the user does not reactivate their account within 30 days, any data prior to the 30-day window of when it is reauthorized will be irretrievable by the API.

Twitter

Twitter policy requires that all write actions using the Twitter API require access tokens. When a user grants permission, user tokens generated for that user are provided in API requests. 

For more information, read the Twitter Account Activity API documentation

Instagram

The Instagram policy states that tokens last a maximum of 60 days and users must reauthorize apps for continued access. This policy applies to all Instagram app developers. 

Instagram policy, Access Tokens:

User access tokens come in two forms: short-lived tokens and long-lived tokens. Short-lived tokens are valid for one hour, while long-lived tokens have a lifetime of 60 days. You should not depend on these lifetimes remaining the same - the lifetime may change without warning or expire early.

Members Who Read This Article Also Liked:

0 out of 0 found this helpful