Many social networks require credentials to be reauthorized after a certain period of time, so your social channels will become disconnected from time to time. While this can be frustrating, it’s good to keep in mind that this is normal behavior and usually the result of the social network making a change to keep your account safe and secure.
Connections between GaggleAMP and your social channels require access tokens, which can expire due to password changes and access token lifespans. Usually, social networks only require a simple reconnection to get back to sharing your content.
If you receive a notification that one of your social networks has become disconnected, follow these simple steps.
Why Did My Account Get Disconnected?
Your account can get disconnected from GaggleAMP for a multitude of reasons but the most common occurrence is when an access token is revoked (more on that below). With this in mind, the most common way to trigger that access token being disconnected is when you change your password on a social network.
While there is no good resource that explains this in totality across all networks, you an see a glimpse of the recommendation Facebook provides to developers (scenario #2) which indicates it is a common practice: How-To: Handle expired access tokens.
With this in mind, in addition to the platform policies listed below, we do have scenarios where we will invalidate a Member's authentication. Examples include:
1. If GaggleAMP gets any sort of Authentication or permission error from the platform's side when interacting with them, or
2. If GaggleAMP fails to update the Refresh Token
Reconnecting Your Social Channels
From the Activities tab, scroll down until you see the ‘Social Accounts’ widget on the left-hand side.